Logical Writing

So I was sitting here, carefully planning out actions and reactions for the next section of Honored, thinking about how because this happened, this is how this character will react. And then, I moved into the unwritten territory of space, and thought, hmmm, if the character does this, then this will happen, because this is the action type of the character, and my characters current loop until something changes her behavior.

And then I realized why my stories are always so logical. I am a computer programmer, and I plan my stories out just like I do a computer program. This while loop runs until… If this happens, then this happens. Because this condition was met, this will happen.

I never really thought about the connection before now. I guess the conditionals were not correct for this realization until now.

Leave a comment